AVSIG: Bonanza or Columbia wwswsigarch.jpg (7236 bytes)

✈ . . . . . . ✈ . . . . . ✈ . . . . ✈ . . . ✈ . . ✈ . ✈ . . ✈ . . . ✈ . . . . ✈ . . . . . ✈ . . . . . . Touch-and-Go to our Live Forum (This is a Read-only Archive of the 2004-2017 AVSIG Forum)

AVSIG Discussion Sections >> Beechcraft

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | >> (show all)
Joel Aiken (RDU)
Public Guest

Reged: 05/16/04
Loc: North Carolina
Bonanza or Columbia
      #140207 - 01/12/07 04:49 AM

I'm trying to decide between purchasing a Bonanza or a Columbia. I've been studying the pros and cons for a few months and can't decide which to go with.
I'm asking for your opinions.

I owned a Bonanza F33A from 1992 until 2001 when I sold it. Loved the Bo' but now I'm wondering if I should buy the Columbia.
I'm shopping for new or nearly new. I'm familiar with the price differences.

The Columbia appears to have a performance edge over the Bonanza, but feels more cramped (I have flown the Columbia on 2 demo flights).
I'm not sure what to make of the "composite" airframe. If it gets dinged, is it a lot worse repair that a metal airframe? Does the composite airplane weather OK when left on the ramp in the hot sun?
and what's the deal with lightning strikes? Is the composite more dangerous?

I love the G1000 (opinions here, too please) and can get it in a new Columbia for $460,000 but would pay at last $650,00 for a Bonanza with G1000.

Joel

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Dave Siciliano (ADS)
Top Gun

Reged: 05/17/04
Loc: ADS (Dallas, TX)
Re: Bonanza or Columbia [Re: Joel Aiken (RDU)]
      #140213 - 01/12/07 06:44 AM

Joel:

I don't quite know what you are comparing. Are you looking at an new A-36 v. the Columbia 300 (350)?

I owned an A-36 that was turbonormalized for 5 1/2 years and loved it.